I have to get out of vacation mode and into work/home mode. It seems so hard to get back into the grind, which is odd because I like my routine. Anyway, I will switch gears today and quit fantasizing about beaches and the Rocky Mountains. I’ve seen both in the last 10 days!

I try to keep some healthy muffins on hand for the hubby to take for his breakfast on the go. When I got home there were no muffins. Not only that…there were no eggs. So sticking to my commitment to USE IT UP, I opted to throw together some eggless “vegan” muffins from http://www.egglesscooking.com/eggless-baking-recipes/eggless-muffins/ . I will figure out how to do the hyperlink thingy later. Anyway, I am NOT a vegan. I am a gun-totin’, meat-eatin’, chicken-killin’ country girl who just happens to live in The City (that’s Oklahoma City for those who don’t get the lingo). I also just happen to be eating healthier, so I find myself directed to many vegan sites when I search for ways to USE UP my quinoa and chia seeds 🙂 I took a few liberties with the recipe. Why? To USE IT UP! I didn’t have raspberries but I had tart cherries (eat cherries every day to keep the gout away..trust me on this). I was almost out of sugar, so I didn’t have any left to sprinkle on top to make them purty. So I USED UP some pumpkin seeds and pine nuts. Do you see a trend here? I also needed to use some cornmeal, so I opted for this Raspberry Cherry Cornmeal Muffin recipe. It’s like a little cherry pie inside cornbread…yum!

Eggless Cornmeal Cherry Muffins

1 1/2 c. Flour

3/4 c. Cornmeal

1/2-3/4 c. Sugar

3 t. Baking Powder

1 t. Baking Soda

1/4 t. salt

1 t. Dried Orange Peel or Zest from 1 Orange

1 1/2 c. Frozen Tart Cherries

1 1/4 c. milk – curdled with 1 T Apple Cider Vinegar

1/4 c. Canola Oil

1 t. Vanilla

Preheat oven to 400. Spray muffin tin with nonstick spray. Mix curdled milk, oil and vanilla. Set aside. Combine dry ingredients in large bowl. Mix a little of this with the cherries so they don’t sink! Fold  the milk mixture into the flour mixture…don’t overdo it. Working the flour too much makes your baked goods tough!. Spoon into muffin tins and sprinkle sugar or seeds or whatever on top to dress them up a little. This makes 12 large muffins. Bake for 15-20 minutes until brown and passes the toothpick test. Let sit for a few minutes till cool, then grab the butter fake buttery spread and chow down!

A nostalgic note about the picture. The dishes are my Grandma Anderson’s Desert Rose. These are the real deal….old pieces sold in the 40’s. I only use them for Holidays or photo ops, but I LOVE them. The mug is the very same one that my Mama would get out at Christmas and serve me up a piping hot cup of “cocoa” made in the old aluminum “cocoa pot”. I will post a pic of that old thing someday….I still use it. It’s good to have old things to remind us of days gone by. But you have to USE them!

