ImageWarning: This post may be offensive to clean freaks and germaphobes. Yes I love my dogs. I am not one of those obsessive people who dresses their dogs in sweaters or spends $300 at Pet stores on chew toys. However, I take care of them very well and worry about their well-being sort of like I did my kids all those years ago. I just don’t take them anywhere. Why, you ask? Well because they both weigh about 70 pounds and are very hard to handle for an almost-senior-citizen with a bum leg and back. So we stay home except for that yearly checkup.

Button is my older female. She is almost 10, which is 70 to you and I. Her hips are bad so she limps. She is neurotic and scared of thunder, neighbor boys hitting the fence, popcorn in the microwave, and being away from me. You can see the problem. But she is so sweet and loving and was my first venture into big-dog-in-the-house life. She has trained me very well. No food on the counter when you are out of the room. No food left in trash can when you leave the house. No stranger comes in without getting the living daylights scared out of them. See! I learned fast! We got her when she was 4. She was fairly well set in her ways. Anyway, back on topic. Because she is so hairy, and because she is apparently allergic to dust or air, she is an itchy scratchy mess this time of year. Being a dedicated dog mom, as well as being frugal, thrifty and a cheapskate, I searched for home remedies for her itch. Oatmeal seemed to be the most popular choice. So I went to the garage to look for a tub that would hold a 70 pound dog in a tepid bath of oatmeal juice. Nada. Next best thing is the trusty bathtub. So yes, I filled up two socks with oatmeal, threw them in the tub, filled it up, and coaxed her into the cool gray water. She did surprisingly well. In fact, she LOVED IT! Who wouldn’t love a relaxing cool bath on a hot day being scrubbed with an oatmal loofa? She even let me dry her off before shaking!

It’s been 3 hours and no scratching so far. So I wonder if once a year is enough? Isn’t she pretty?

