My first blog post on my first blog should be very important. It should echo the theme of the blog, the theme of my life, the theme of what I want to share. I wonder if this is what they teach in Blogging 101 in High School these days? It sounds like a rule, and the first thing that you will learn about me is that I don’t particularly care for rules. Don’t get me wrong. We need them. I follow them faithfully. But deep down inside there is an almost-hippie rebel from the 70’s that says “SCREW YOU. I do what I want!” Then I turn on my heel and follow the rules because I am a pleaser at heart. I clash with myself ALL the time! But for me, in this little creative outlet, there won’t be any rules about theme or grammar or what other people would approve of or run-on sentences. There will be lots of dog stories. I have two German Shepherds who pretty much rule my life. It will be about grandbabies because mine are the cutest. It will be about cooking because the hubby and I have adapted a new healthy lifestyle and I cook things like quinoa cakes with kale and black beans. I eat them…he can fix his own stuff. It will be about crafty things because I love to start cool projects and never finish them. And it will be about growing older and the pitfalls, the trip and falls, and the windfalls that life brings. And it may contain a broken dream or two…the realization that the outcome I envisioned in my head was a pipe dream and reality can be just as good. So I give you this picture. I wanted a beautiful back yard. I have a dog-trodden weedy ugly mess. Barren. Boring. I hate it. So my neighbor was kind enough to give me this rose to brighten my yard. Who knew that not pruning your roses could actually bring a smile to someone else’s day? That’s the lesson for today.

